top of page

Phil Hall Invited to Goodwood 73rd Members Meeting

Phil Hall recently received an invite from Goodwood, to bring his ex Team Surtees T70 to the prestigious Members Meeting at Goodwood in March. Goodwood will celebrate the achievements of several motor sport legends at the 73rd Members’ Meeting by naming the races at the event in their honour. A 12-race programme has been confirmed for the 73rd Members’ Meeting, and the races will celebrate the achievements of several racing heroes by being named in their honour. 73MM will be held on March 21-22 2015 in front of an exclusive audience comprising members of the Goodwood Road Racing Club and a limited number of like-minded enthusiasts. The Derek Bell Cup – a race for one-litre ‘screamer’ Formula 3 cars – will honour the five-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner, who raced with great success in F3 at Goodwood. Meanwhile, the achievements of double World Champion Graham Hill will be marked with an hour-long, two-driver race for GT cars of 1960 to ’66 on the Saturday evening of the event. The Hawthorn Trophy, named after Britain’s first F1 World Champion, Mike Hawthorn, will be held for front-engined F1, F2 and Formula Libre cars of the 1950s, the likes of which brought him to prominence right here at Goodwood in 1952, and gave him his greatest successes. Tommy Sopwith, runner-up in the inaugural British Touring Car Championship in 1958, lends his name to a race for 1950s saloons, while Trevor Taylor’s achievements will be marked with a race for rear-engined, drum-braked Formula Junior, of the type in which he won the 1960 British Championship. Early Can-Am prototypes and pre-1935 grand prix cars will make up the fields for, respectively, the Bruce McLaren and Earl Howe Trophies, while a race for British 1960s production sports cars will be named in honour of ‘aftermarket king’ Les Leston, whose products were vital in the creation of some of the era’s most endearing racing machines. A race exclusively for Porsche 911s of pre-1967 vintage will be held for the John Aldington Trophy, in honour of the man widely credited with introducing Porsche into the UK. As previously announced, the Gerry Marshall Trophy for Group 1 touring cars, and the Salvadori Cup for 1950s sports cars, both of which proved to be instant crowd favourites at this year’s 72nd Members’ Meeting, will return to the action.

bottom of page